Do these folks think we're idiots!!!

Jim's R1
04-01-2005, 08:21 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=4540017628&category=35580 Nice bike, but I'm sure this scammer actually expects we think someone is willing to lose $7500 on a bike...what an idiot!!!!!!! Jim

Captain Morgan
04-01-2005, 08:27 PM
I've seen LOTS of those. Most of them say the bike is out of the country but they'll ship it to you for free. And if you ever ask to inspect the bike prior to buying it, they tell you the bike is in storage and they're out of the country. :rolleyes:

zx636r
04-01-2005, 08:29 PM
i should buy it with pay pal and then file a claim to paypal and make them give me a biek for 2500

Need4Speed
04-01-2005, 08:30 PM
now if only this were in Greece.. right DJ !! :rant:

Jim's R1
04-01-2005, 08:33 PM
I'm just tired of this ***** :rant: . I've already reported it to eBay. Obviously these guys don't care, but I don't want to see anyone get burned. Hopefully no one is stupid enough to send money to this *******! Jim

Jim's R1
04-01-2005, 08:37 PM
ZX - I e-mailed this guy and told him I would pay with paypal today and fly to p/u the bike. I'm curious to see what his response will be. I wish eBay could get a handle on this :cursin: . Jim

Gas Man
04-01-2005, 10:01 PM
Make sure you post up his response.... But you're right... there is something wrong with this picture... :nonod:

Captain Morgan
04-01-2005, 10:32 PM
I can tell you what his response will be because I've e-mailed several of these guys and they're all VERY similar. He will say that the bike has to be shipped because it's already crated and at the shipping location, just waiting on a buyer. Also, he will say that he is out of town and can't make arrangements to have the bike picked up. Believe me, it will be VERY similar to this, at least.

Gas Man
04-01-2005, 10:42 PM
I can't wait to see the response....

Jim's R1
04-02-2005, 05:51 PM
Well...the guy never e-mailed me back, but eBay removed the item. Hopefully this kept somebody from getting screwed! Whoever this guy is all I can say is :loser: . Jim

Captain Morgan
04-03-2005, 02:38 PM
He might e-mail you AFTER the auction is pulled. Several of them have done that, and they still claim the auction will be completed through eBay and Square Trade. :lol: My guess is that they have a fake eBay and Square Trade page setup on the web, but I've never seen it. eBay pulls the items because they know the signs of a scam, but they just can't keep on top of all these guys.

jeeps84
04-03-2005, 03:08 PM
I think E Bay does a good job of kicking this stuff out. As soon as I find one, I report it and its gone. They cant control all the post as they go up but they do try. It just makes it harder for those of us that try to buy/sale on E Bay legit.

GSXR1000DJ
04-04-2005, 11:00 AM
now if only this were in Greece.. right DJ !! :rant: LOL so true on this N4S.

Gas Man
05-23-2005, 12:04 PM
I found another one of these. I would link it back to the auction but it looks like EBay already took it off. Same type of thing. The auction said that if you don't email him first he'll cancel your bid. But check it out!! SCAM!!!!!! Hello, I received your email regarding my bike and I-d like to thank you for being interested in my item. The bike is in perfect condition, with no scratches on it, no damage, Always garaged, Always covered, meticulously maintained. Everything about this bike functions perfectly. Incredible power, handling and reliability. The bike has only 2500 miles. I will agree to sell the bike for the $2600 The bike is located in AMES, IA, USA.I have a good reason for the price.I recently moved with my family and now we are in GREECE. We just bought a house here but we run into some financial dificulties. As this bike is an US model the price to register it here is very high, also the shipping to this place, so I've decided to sell it in US at a price that will find a buyer in a few days . Regarding the payment I am aware of the buyer's protection and specially I will use a Third Party which will hold the payment until the buyer will receive the product. I will wait for your email to let me know if you are interested in knowing more details about the purchase. Regards. "MICHAEL NOSBISCH"

AirForceTeacher
05-24-2005, 08:19 AM
That's funny ... before I saw this thread I emailed an eBay seller about a $3500 CBR1000. He just replied this morning - he lives in Greece!

Gas Man
05-24-2005, 12:56 PM
That is the normal place they live!! It's a SCAM!! BEWARE!!

bumblebee
05-25-2005, 07:57 AM
My wife graduated from College in Ames and her parents live 30 miles away. E-mail them back and say someone will come to inspect the bike...I'll call off4ever and send him up there.

Gas Man
05-25-2005, 10:39 AM
That would be funny!

Earlzach
05-27-2005, 09:40 PM
I emailed One from e-bay and he was in Italy for a Ninja 600. He was going through a divorse. So sad. The I saw a great deal in auto trader mag, It was a 2002 cbr 900 something rr and he had a phone no, and an e-mail. Funny thing was this guy was also in italy going through a divorce. What is with american bikes and divorce that send peeps to Italy? :skep: I know these were both scams but should he have though about the e-mail address he was replying too as being the same withing minutes of eachother. What a moron.

Mudpuppy
05-27-2005, 10:09 PM
This listing (4540017628) has been removed by eBay or is no longer available. Please make sure that you've entered the item number correctly.