question - TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
question

hello i'm new to this forum and i wasnt sure where to post this thread and i'm not sure if anyone on here deals with 2 stroke mx bikes but heres my problem...ok so i got a 94 kx250 and i'm after going though like 15 plugs in the past month....started mixing gas 32:1 with a ngk br9es plug..kept on fouling plugs..so then went to 35:1 with the same plug....still kept foulin plugs... so now i'm at 40:1 and running a ngk br8es plug! and STILL foulinf them... everyone said if ya dont drive a 2 stroke hard u will foul plugs....so ok i went mad on the bike one day making sure that the plug was gettin cleaned everyshot of gas and so then i stop for like 5 mins. start the bike up....and there she bes...she fouled another plug! i'm about fed up with this and every place i call they say i'm mixing the gas to rich.......now is 40:1 rich? No!...
i was talkin to this guy who had the same prop with his banshee and he said what was wrong wit his was the needle and the seat in the carb so he bought both of them new and that solved his problem. i'm going to ask around before i buy that stuff beacuse its 30 bucks for a little needle and seat ......so anyone know whats wrong?

thanks
smack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 09:03 PM
First 1000 Member
 
No Worries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,394
Although I still love them, I haven't ridden a two stroke since 1978. But the fouling is probably coming from a rich (fuel) mixture, not the oil mixture. I would say something is wrong with the carb. If the float needle and/or seat is bad, gas will flow out of the overflow hose on the carb when the gas is turned on.
No Worries is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 09:04 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
the gas leaks out somtimes...when i leave it sitting for a day or so and just move it some gas will come out
smack is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 09:05 PM
First 1000 Member
 
Earlzach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South, NJ
Posts: 1,396
Welcome and where are your from?

The reason is most dirt bikes are shipped to USA jeted for sea-level. Now if your relativly coastal then this is not an issue with you.
Next your plugs should be gapped at .028 to .032 no exeption. To insure a perfect run out of you plugs I recomend you find Some "Maxima SuperM" two cycle oil,
Mix 16.oz to 4.5 gallons of gas. If your Air filter and carb is clean of sludge and dirt you should feel the power right away and your plug will not fail.

If your central of the country at a higher elevation you will need to re-jet for altitude. Two cycle motors react to this very easy. Also it wouldnt hurt to do a compression test on your bike to ensure blowby is not an issue. Anyhow best of luck and be carefull. Helmets save lives.


Earlzach, Yamaha FZ1
"Some things are just best done NEKKED"
SOFAKINGII Owner David
Earlzach is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 11:06 PM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
and I have no input to add.




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-17-2006, 08:14 AM
First 1000 Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gas Man
and I have no input to add.
wait...neither do I...

Currently bikeless
Was 007 CBR 600RR
was '98 YZF 600R
ne1469 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-17-2006, 08:21 AM
 
1BadCBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 7,007
Send a message via Yahoo to 1BadCBR
Quote:
Originally Posted by ne1469
wait...neither do I...
1BadCBR is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-17-2006, 08:36 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
thanks guys... i'm from Newfoundland, Canada
smack is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-17-2006, 09:14 PM
Factory Racer
 
Back _Marker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tyrone, GA
Posts: 2,017
are the plugs wet or coated with black soot?
try running without the air cleaner. this will lean it out if it's running too rich.

when not running the bike, switch the petcock in the off position. i don't think it has a vacuum actuated petcock.

-a|ex
Back _Marker is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-17-2006, 09:47 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
there just wet...and thanks i'll try it
smack is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-17-2006, 11:11 PM
First 1000 Member
 
No Worries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,394
It needs a new needle and seat, but $30? Even Canadian. Check out ebay or google. After all it's just one.
No Worries is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-18-2006, 12:26 AM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gas Man
and I have no input to add.
to TWF

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-19-2006, 10:12 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by No Worries
It needs a new needle and seat, but $30? Even Canadian. Check out ebay or google. After all it's just one.

are you telling me thats what i need or are you just quoting what i'm saying i'm not quite sure lol
smack is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-21-2006, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
also when the bike just sits for a while some gas will leak out though the over flow!
smack is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-21-2006, 11:34 PM
First 1000 Member
 
No Worries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,394
Could be a piece of dirt between the needle and seat, but if you are going to take the carb apart, you might as well change the needle and seat. If it is dirt, put a fuel filter in the gas line.
No Worries is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome