Computer Help Please!!! - TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-24-2006, 09:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 68
Computer Help Please!!!

Ladies/Gents,

I need computer help please I turned on my PC it locks up in DOS before windows will pop up and says "Verifying DMI Pool Data............" and won't go past that.

Thanks,
Bill
wgc_3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-24-2006, 09:14 PM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
Quote:
Originally Posted by wgc_3 View Post
Ladies/Gents,

I need computer help please I turned on my PC it locks up in DOS before windows will pop up and says "Verifying DMI Pool Data............" and won't go past that.

Thanks,
Bill
Is it in safe mode?

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-24-2006, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 68
Not that I am aware of.
wgc_3 is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-24-2006, 09:28 PM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
black screen and then bad color on desktop?

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-24-2006, 09:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 68
No it's not getting into Windows it locks up in dos and just stays Verifying DMI Pool Data............" doesn't move past that.
wgc_3 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-24-2006, 09:45 PM
TWF Board Of Directors

 
Trip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 11,484
Send a message via AIM to Trip
Maybe your CMOS is corrupt, get out your mobo book and see about resetting your CMOS. Check your cmos battery as well.

Another option is to try another hard drive. Something in your bios/cmos has gone corrupt.

2005 Honda CRF88RR - 2007 Honda CBR600RR

Last edited by Trip; 08-24-2006 at 09:48 PM.
Trip is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-24-2006, 10:55 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 940
Access your bios on boot and insure that it is reading your harddrive(s). If not, the usual cause is a loose or bad ribbon cable. Open up the case and insure that both the drive connectors and the mobo connectors are in solid. If drives are all showing, check boot order to insure it's not seeking on the wrong drive.

If the harddrives are showing up in your bios, you prolly have a corrupted MBR (master boot record). You did make an Emergency boot disk, dintcha? Insert EBD and rebbot computer...when you get the A:\> type in " sys c:" that should transfer the system files and start the boot process. If not, reboot to A:\> type in "fdisk/mbr" that will repair your master boot record. Remove emergecy floppy and reboot. All should be well. If not, you may have virus damage, or hard drive failure.

Best wishes.
oldetymebiker is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-24-2006, 11:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 68
I had a 2g SD card in the reader when I removed it the computer worked fine. I find this odd due to the fact its ALWAYS been in there. I've never had to remove it. Anyway, all is good.

Thank you,
Bill
wgc_3 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-25-2006, 12:13 AM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916





-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-25-2006, 08:24 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
perhaps "removable media" is in the list of boot options first.

to speed up the boot process, i usually go into the bios and set "removable media" as the last of options, putting harddrive first then CDROM then removable media.
My_Demise is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-29-2006, 03:52 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,840
bump
Knight is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-29-2006, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,007
stop looking at little midgets.com
1BadCBR is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-01-2006, 01:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gas Man View Post




marko138 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome