The official IS/IT guy stories - TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 12:31 AM Thread Starter
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
The official IS/IT guy stories

I was talking to N4S about this the other night. Let's hear some funny stories from you IT guys...

Stuff like my mouse doesn't work and after an hour on the phone you figure out that the a-hole never plugged it in!!

Ya know stuff like that!!!




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 12:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,263
these will take some time to write up,as you have to get the entire gist of the call to make it really funny.

but one of the classic one liners that makes u realize you are dealing with a genious on the phone is:

Me:Tech Support this is matt, how can I help you?
Customer:Yes, I cant get onto the net..
Me: Ok, what version of windows do you have?
Customer: I have the newest version, windows millenium professional edition 2000..

its all down hill from there..
Need4Speed is offline  
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 02:20 AM Thread Starter
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
is that *****!!!

Well, I'm waiting to be laughed off my PC chair...




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #4 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 12:13 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,333
OK here we go...tech is me and office is person on line.

Tech:"Hello, this is Tech support. How may I help you?"
Office:"Hi, I'm having a serious problem with my computer."
Tech:"Can you please describe it to me?"
Office:"Yes, I need to copy some files to my computer from a CD, but there seems to be no CD drive at the tower box."

I immediately thought there was no way for her computer not to have a cdrom drive, as we had recently checked all the pcs for possible hardware errors and mising parts.

Tech:"Can you look at the front of the tower? There have to be 3 buttons, one for the power, one for reset and one more smaller button, above the others."
Office:"Yes, I can see them."
Tech:"Press that small button. Does it do anything?"
Office:"Yes"
Tech:"So, that's your CD rom drive.."
Office:"Oh, really? I thought this was a stand for my coffee cup"...
GSXR1000DJ is offline  
post #5 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 01:17 PM Thread Starter
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Hey that's not a true story that's a email funny....




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #6 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 01:25 PM
Administrator
 
ShanMan14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: FREE THE HOPS!
Posts: 10,104
I had a woman blame me because her modem didn't work. I knew she was an IT idiot so I went the extra mile and held her hand through everything... how it worked, why etc. (She was getting ready to travel).

She's gone, at her hotel and raises holy hell because her modem doesn't work. Seems I neglected to tell her that she had to PLUG IN THE PHONE LINE to the modem.

Now, correct me if I'm wrong, but if you're using the phone line for ANYTHING... wouldn't common sense tell you it needs to be plugged in? You don't have to know lickety split about computers to realize that.

What an idiot.
ShanMan14 is offline  
post #7 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 01:26 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gas Man
Hey that's not a true story that's a email funny....

It had to happen to someone to become an email funny.
GSXR1000DJ is offline  
post #8 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 01:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,263
True story..happens more often than you think

Me..Tech support this is matt...
customer...yes, my computer screen is black, i cant type anything, i dont see a mouse or a cursor, and theres no lights on my tower, why wont my interenet work?
me..did you turn on your computer?
customer...uumm, well no???!!!
Need4Speed is offline  
post #9 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-07-2004, 12:45 PM Thread Starter
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916






-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #10 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-22-2004, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
no love for my thread!!! Come on N4S, I know there are tons of stupid PA people that keep calling you with stupid questions and problems!!




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #11 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 01:37 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 392
Well I know Matt has told me already that as soon as he answers, the adult sometimes hands the phone over to children, because they end up knowing more than the parent. So not only does he have to talk to 8-year-olds, but he has to help them spell and everything!
CrunchieJD is offline  
post #12 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 07:14 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 519
Not funny, dumb:
I work Ecommerce and I get a large number of emails containing both social security numbers and credit card numbers. Suffice it to say, I have a standard email response that tells them they just sent their private info insecurely.
kanwisch is offline  
post #13 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 07:15 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 519
A reverse angle:
Every time I call customer support with a problem I get, "Reboot Windows." Now, being an IT person already, don't you think I already tried that you moron?
kanwisch is offline  
post #14 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 09:48 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrunchieJD
Well I know Matt has told me already that as soon as he answers, the adult sometimes hands the phone over to children, because they end up knowing more than the parent. So not only does he have to talk to 8-year-olds, but he has to help them spell and everything!

you'd be surprised how many adults cant spell "command" either. i talk to people Every day, i tell them.. click on start, run, type in command, and click OK. they tell me, inevitably, it says windows cannot find "comand", I say, "spell it with 2 m's" .........oooohhh, I got it now, .. Where in the hell does these people graduate from???
Need4Speed is offline  
post #15 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 09:51 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,333
I love that one. I talk to ppl all the time on the phone and when asked to reboot there computer, they tell me they just did....to bad they don't know I can see how long ago they last booted and how long there modem has been online. LOL
GSXR1000DJ is offline  
post #16 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 09:54 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,263
thats the best.. "yes sir, can you reboot your modem for me please"
"I just did that while I was on hold"

"well sir, it shows here that your modem hasnt been rebooted in 29 days!!!!!"

oh, ok, well, I thought I just did it, but i'll do it again just to be safe" , then they proceed to change the subject..
Need4Speed is offline  
post #17 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 09:56 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,333
I love those calls. You catch them in a lie and they try to talk about something different.
GSXR1000DJ is offline  
post #18 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 11:35 AM Thread Starter
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
I never reboot my modem....unless I have a problem with the internet...what's that suppose to do??




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #19 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 11:38 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gas Man
I never reboot my modem....unless I have a problem with the internet...what's that suppose to do??

the modems sometimes lose the lease on their IP address if they are left online for long periods of time, or the nic can lose its lease on its IP..a simple reboot fixes many things. if u notice ur speeds are alittle sluggish, unplug ur modem for a couple minutes, plug it back in and reboot.

of course it doesnt fix everything, but somethings for sure.
Need4Speed is offline  
post #20 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-23-2004, 12:15 PM Thread Starter
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
That's the only time I do reboot it!!




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome