Mother Frickn' Windows Movie Maker Trouble!!! - TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-20-2007, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 911
Mother Frickn' Windows Movie Maker Trouble!!!

Okay. My Windows Movie Maker keeps freezing up and killing it's self. Sometimes it happens when I try to put a clip into the timeline/squares and other times it just does it out of nowhere.

Does anyone else have trouble with this? If so do you know how to fix it?

I have Windows XP and I think it's the version 5.1 of movie maker
Gateway Laptop

Any help would be appreciated because I'm going to throw my computer off a tall building. Then myself when I can't get the clip of me throwing my computer off a tall building on youtube.
Atlantasmittie84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-20-2007, 09:01 PM
Banned
 
PlayfulGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 9,569
Send a message via AIM to PlayfulGod Send a message via MSN to PlayfulGod
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantasmittie84 View Post
Okay. My Windows Movie Maker keeps freezing up and killing it's self. Sometimes it happens when I try to put a clip into the timeline/squares and other times it just does it out of nowhere.

Does anyone else have trouble with this? If so do you know how to fix it?

I have Windows XP and I think it's the version 5.1 of movie maker
Gateway Laptop

Any help would be appreciated because I'm going to throw my computer off a tall building. Then myself when I can't get the clip of me throwing my computer off a tall building on youtube.
have you tried the windows fixall??? i.e. reboot?
PlayfulGod is offline  
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-20-2007, 09:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlayfulGod View Post
have you tried the windows fixall??? i.e. reboot?
Yep. Restarted many times. Scanned for Viruses and such.

I saw something that scans your computer for problems and such. I did a free scan thing and of course it stated I had 10billion things wrong with it. But wondering if it is worth getting for I thin $29 or so.

It worked fine for a while but just started acting up.
Atlantasmittie84 is offline  
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-20-2007, 09:32 PM
Banned
 
PlayfulGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 9,569
Send a message via AIM to PlayfulGod Send a message via MSN to PlayfulGod
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantasmittie84 View Post
Yep. Restarted many times. Scanned for Viruses and such.

I saw something that scans your computer for problems and such. I did a free scan thing and of course it stated I had 10billion things wrong with it. But wondering if it is worth getting for I thin $29 or so.

It worked fine for a while but just started acting up.
AVG free works as good as anything else on the market n its free. Nortons is a resource hog BTW.

for spyware I use Adaware, and spybot search n destroy.
PlayfulGod is offline  
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-20-2007, 09:52 PM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Yeah mine does that too... Sucks ballz




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #6 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 03:51 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 232
You should check the knowledge base on microsoft site and see if it brings anything back. Run a query with the version number and product you are using and give like a brief description of whats happening. Granted it might take some looking and digging through diff articles. If that doesn't do anything try updates, specifically for that product, then if that doesnt work if your system is still under warranty you can call tech support see if they can help they may know something. thats what I would do.
s0ulburn is offline  
post #7 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 11:55 AM
Sportbike Junkie
 
TIGGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greenville,NC
Posts: 658
Yeah Bro,that sucks! To tell you the truth,I'm afraid of using most of the stuff on my new laptop because I think that I'm going to have similar problem and I've already broken two laptops this year(seriously)! One,I punched the screen and broke it,luckily,I still can hook it up to my lcd tv. The other,I threw across the room but I have a replacement warranty,so they sent me a new one. I work on mech. things all day and almost never lose my temper but windows and computers in gen,can make me blow my top in an instant!!! It really sucks because I supposedly have all this cool stuff on this thing but I don't wanna risk f-ing something up. What I need is to find a computer chick that's NOT a greasy,fat pig and hook up with her,so she can help me with this crap. Man I have like 20+ 8mm tapes of us stunting on FZRs,ZX9s,GSXR750s, CBR900RRs and even my '99 'Busa back in the day. Not the kind of stuff they do now but pretty cool for back them. I have a newer "digital" 8mm camcorder that I can supposedly hook up to this thing and make DVDs but I"M SCARED!!!

TIGGER is offline  
post #8 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 12:03 PM
Banned
 
trock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The fix
Posts: 2,149
Send a message via MSN to trock
Everytime I have ever used Movie Maker it does the same thing. Just save a lot and don't run anything else on your compuer at the same time.
trock is offline  
post #9 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 07:28 PM
Sportbike Junkie
 
TIGGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greenville,NC
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by trock View Post
Everytime I have ever used Movie Maker it does the same thing. Just save a lot and don't run anything else on your compuer at the same time.

You know what? I'm gonna try it! My truck has a dvd player and I want to take photos and burn music over them. Instead of the blank screens I have now in the truck when I play cds. Besides,I have some homemade p0rn I want to make into dvds and send to OSP! j/k. Wish me luck and pray for the life of my laptop!

TIGGER is offline  
post #10 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 11:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 911
I got it mother flippin fixed!!!

I did some reading and found out that Codecs such as Divx conflict with Movie Maker.

Something about the end being .AX or something along those lines.

So I deleted all Divx stuff and it worked perfect.

Sorry guys you have to watch porn another way
Atlantasmittie84 is offline  
post #11 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 11:46 PM
Banned
 
PlayfulGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 9,569
Send a message via AIM to PlayfulGod Send a message via MSN to PlayfulGod
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantasmittie84 View Post
I got it mother flippin fixed!!!

I did some reading and found out that Codecs such as Divx conflict with Movie Maker.

Something about the end being .AX or something along those lines.

So I deleted all Divx stuff and it worked perfect.

Sorry guys you have to watch porn another way
I've not had that issue but I'm running Vista Ultimate 64bit
Glad ya got er fixed
PlayfulGod is offline  
post #12 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 12:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 911
Apparently Windows Movie Maker 2.1 doesn't have that problem. Which I'm guessing is on Vista. I'm guessing I have windows 2.0 so screw it.

Someone did mention an "Adobe" application that he said was $100 and blows Windows Movie Maker out of the water.

Not worth it now being I use a Digital Camera like a video camera and all my vids go to Youtube. But later on I might give it a try.
Atlantasmittie84 is offline  
post #13 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 12:10 AM
Banned
 
PlayfulGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 9,569
Send a message via AIM to PlayfulGod Send a message via MSN to PlayfulGod
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantasmittie84 View Post
Apparently Windows Movie Maker 2.1 doesn't have that problem. Which I'm guessing is on Vista. I'm guessing I have windows 2.0 so screw it.

Someone did mention an "Adobe" application that he said was $100 and blows Windows Movie Maker out of the water.

Not worth it now being I use a Digital Camera like a video camera and all my vids go to Youtube. But later on I might give it a try.
get me the name of it

Last edited by PlayfulGod; 10-22-2007 at 12:14 AM.
PlayfulGod is offline  
post #14 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 12:26 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 911
Adobe premier elements for $100.00 dollars

That's what the guy said it was. I haven't had time to look into it
Atlantasmittie84 is offline  
post #15 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 07:34 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantasmittie84 View Post
I got it mother flippin fixed!!!

I did some reading and found out that Codecs such as Divx conflict with Movie Maker.

Something about the end being .AX or something along those lines.

So I deleted all Divx stuff and it worked perfect.

Sorry guys you have to watch porn another way
VLC.
OneSickPsycho is offline  
post #16 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 09:28 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 232
It's amazing the wealth of knowledge you can find if you just google it. An VLC is great I play all my *cough* priated *cough* movies on VLC ' specially my pr0n.
s0ulburn is offline  
post #17 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 09:32 AM
Banned
 
PlayfulGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 9,569
Send a message via AIM to PlayfulGod Send a message via MSN to PlayfulGod
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneSickPsycho View Post
VLC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by s0ulburn View Post
It's amazing the wealth of knowledge you can find if you just google it. An VLC is great I play all my *cough* priated *cough* movies on VLC ' specially my pr0n.
VLC is great for 'watching' vids. Not much help on editing them
PlayfulGod is offline  
post #18 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 911
Well for now Movie Maker is okay for me. And I'm really starting to work with it and figure it out. The coolest feature I discovered is "Slow Motion" that does it at half speed. I did some shooting at the gun range the other day and when slowing it down you can see the flashes from the gun pretty well. The only problem is there were people next to me going "Ooh Aaah" everytime I shot the gun and it sounds like a cheesy movie where they jump infront of a bullet and say "NOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooo"


And here are some other videos I've been making. The latest I figured out how to add titles and to fade between videos.
http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=AtlRacerBoyz
I must warn you. There is some major squidly action in there.
Atlantasmittie84 is offline  
post #19 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-23-2007, 10:49 AM
Sportbike Junkie
 
TIGGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greenville,NC
Posts: 658
That's sweet you have a "Raging Bull" too! I've always wanted a Desert Eagle but I've never wanted to put up the coin. I once could have bought one for $300 and the guy was going to throw in a Chinese AK-47 with two banna clips and a 100 round round clip! I assumed it was hot and decided not to chance it but I've always regretted it!

TIGGER is offline  
post #20 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-23-2007, 10:54 AM
Banned
 
PlayfulGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 9,569
Send a message via AIM to PlayfulGod Send a message via MSN to PlayfulGod
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIGGER View Post
That's sweet you have a "Raging Bull" too! I've always wanted a Desert Eagle but I've never wanted to put up the coin. I once could have bought one for $300 and the guy was going to throw in a Chinese AK-47 with two banna clips and a 100 round round clip! I assumed it was hot and decided not to chance it but I've always regretted it!
I had one 'once' cheap, tho we wont discuss what I was doing at the time

Needless to say that was a different life.
PlayfulGod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome