anyone wanna see my tool? - TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 01:00 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 73
anyone wanna see my tool?

check out my new toy. this 3/8 digital torque wrench does Nm,kgcm,ft-lb, and in-lb. it has yellow led when getting close to set torque then green led with a loud beep when right on target, and red led when over torque. it also has a flex head. it's $350 on sale this month( maybe longer) from MAC Tools
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_1102.JPG
Views:	56
Size:	695.9 KB
ID:	2409  
valpoboyzkenny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 01:03 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 17,886
I usually use nice and snug and it's free. J/K
DLIT is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 05:14 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 146
i was looking at a digital one locally

do you have to hold it steady in place to get a correct read out?
beanz is offline  
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 09:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,010
that y i use loctite and lots of it. and an old fasion torque wrench. but i would love to have that but not for 350
zx636r is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 10:21 AM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by zx636r
that y i use loctite and lots of it. and an old fasion torque wrench. but i would love to have that but not for 350





-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 10:51 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by beanz
i was looking at a digital one locally

do you have to hold it steady in place to get a correct read out?
When youre getting close to the torque setting you have it at, a yellow led lights up then you slowly turn it more till the green led lights up and then there will be a loud tone telling you to stop. Its programmable you dont have to watch the display to see what the torque is. you set it at for example 75 Nm and just use it just like a normal torque wrench.
valpoboyzkenny is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 10:54 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,335
I have the cheap "click" type torque wrench. It would be nice to have something like that digital, but I'll spend my extra money on the bike.
Captain Morgan is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 10:58 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by zx636r
that y i use loctite and lots of it. and an old fasion torque wrench. but i would love to have that but not for 350

Thats the easy way and the best way. But if someone gave me a digital torque wrench, I would use it. But never $350 for one.
GSXR1000DJ is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 11:00 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSXR750DJ
Thats the easy way and the best way. But if someone gave me a digital torque wrench, I would use it. But never $350 for one.

i got the old kind of wrench from ebay for like 30 bucks
twisty is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 12:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by twisty
i got the old kind of wrench from ebay for like 30 bucks
And I use the kind that I borrow from Twisty at $0.. lol..
Mudpuppy is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 12:26 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by double2000r6
And I use the kind that I borrow from Twisty at $0.. lol..
Monday is going to be in the 40's you should try to get your bike over then.
twisty is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 01:10 PM
Factory Racer
 
2FURYUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lit'l Saigon, CA
Posts: 1,718
German torque....goot-n-tyte.

YA THINK???
2FURYUS is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 03:16 PM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2FURYUS
German torque....goot-n-tyte.





-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 03:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,010
yup my torque wrench has a needle and some number, no clicking no sounds just good old fasion get the needle close to the number you want. lol dont there there is that much of a difference between 50 lbs and 45 or 55 lbs. either way it aing coming loose with lock tite.
zx636r is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 10:00 PM
First 1000 Member
 
jetskifast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern Calif, San Juan Island Wa
Posts: 1,897
Nice wrench
Will keep my eye out for one on Ebay
Mac dealers sell new tools at discounted prices on Ebay

02 BMW K1200RS Staintune many mods. Totaled by 16 year old girl
02 BMW F650GS Staintune many mods.
jetskifast is offline  
post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 10:08 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,314
Thats a trick tool! used to have a needle-near-the-number wrench, now its a clickty one for me. Im not all high class yet
JK_DILLA is offline  
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 10:15 PM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
$350 for a torque wrench?
Did it come with a calibration warranty?
Never mind, its a Mac Tool!
Ill wait on Craftsman to bring out there version.

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2005, 11:59 PM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
OK OK!!! I did it!!!

I bought a torque wrench.... I use to just use my room mates when I needed one... he would get one from his work that had industrial use torque wrenchs that were certified every month. But I finally broke down and got one for my up-coming fork project...

Craftsman 10-75 ft lbs $75 reg price on sale for $65... This 1




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2005, 01:52 AM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gas Man
OK OK!!! I did it!!!

I bought a torque wrench.... I use to just use my room mates when I needed one... he would get one from his work that had industrial use torque wrenchs that were certified every month. But I finally broke down and got one for my up-coming fork project...

Craftsman 10-75 ft lbs $75 reg price on sale for $65... This 1
Will do just fine for long time!

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2005, 01:53 AM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
And if it don't! Hey its a Craftsman!

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome