My new Servers - TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 619
My new Servers




katanapilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 11:15 PM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
So who are you servicing?

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
post #3 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 11:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 619
all of our development stuff, acounting, proxy, NAS, web, fax... well pretty much all the brains all in my office. I convinced the boss to upgrade.
katanapilot is offline  
post #4 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 11:37 PM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
I wont even ask the numbers!

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
post #5 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-11-2005, 12:55 AM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Hello...

Looks really nice KP!




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #6 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-11-2005, 01:38 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,339
3' black cabinet. Dell Server. And do I see 2 16 port 10/100 MBps Nortel(?) switches? I cant read the label on the switches Nice little setup indeed. You you like the netowrk setup I administered and put together at my job...if youre into that IT stuff...Sorry I have no pics. I think the boss would fire me if I did. Is the server for your job or is it a recreational web hosting server? Running a T1 connection? What do you use for a firewall? (if your willing to share that classified information)


Signed,

An IT dork

Last edited by snadamo; 06-11-2005 at 01:41 AM.
snadamo is offline  
post #7 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-12-2005, 09:27 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 197
In my basement.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	servers.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	3451  
stevnmd is offline  
post #8 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-12-2005, 09:29 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,269
dont all the screens give you a headache?
PhoenixGirlie is offline  
post #9 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-12-2005, 10:17 AM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhoenixGirlie
dont all the screens give you a headache?

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
post #10 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-12-2005, 11:00 PM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevnmd
In my basement.
And you use that for?




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #11 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-12-2005, 11:04 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gas Man
And you use that for?

Thinking the same thing.
GSXR1000DJ is offline  
post #12 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-12-2005, 11:05 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeeps84



PhoenixGirlie is offline  
post #13 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-13-2005, 01:16 AM
First 1000 Member
 
Grafixx01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,876
I was going to try something like that and use it to host my own like forum, however not for bikes, more like proggies and things of that nature. Then I realize, Duh, you'd get more use out of a bike and it is too much to do right now. So yeah, that's on the back burner, way way way back burner. But it is a nice setup.

What is it used for? Splain? Sum-up?
Grafixx01 is offline  
post #14 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-13-2005, 06:00 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 197
Mine are just used for my home network and training... I have to stay on the cutting edge of the server OSs and software that come out. I've got a total of $499 invested in those servers.

Compaq DL570
2 Xeon 700s with 2MB cache a piece
1.5 GB of RAM
Compaq 3200 RAID controller w/64 MB cache
4 18.2 GB 10k RPM drives in a RAID 5 array

Compaq 6400R
4 Xeon 500s with 1MB cache a piece
4 GB RAM
Compaq 3200 RAID controller w/64 MB cache
2 9.1 GB 10k RPM drives in a RAID 1 array
64 bit PCI, 66 MHz Compaq Fibre Channel controller

Compaq RAID Array 4100 SAN
Connected via Fibre Channel to Guinness
64 MB cache
9 36.4 GB 10k RPM drives in a RAID 5 array

Also, barely visable is an Athlon 1GHz desktop machine which is my firewall.
stevnmd is offline  
post #15 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-13-2005, 09:09 AM
Ace
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,006
This is my sweet a$$ system!!!
Ace is offline  
post #16 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-13-2005, 10:10 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace
This is my sweet a$$ system!!!
Nice set-up Ace. I like it.
chev is offline  
post #17 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-13-2005, 11:21 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevnmd
Mine are just used for my home network and training... I have to stay on the cutting edge of the server OSs and software that come out. I've got a total of $499 invested in those servers.

Compaq DL570
2 Xeon 700s with 2MB cache a piece
1.5 GB of RAM
Compaq 3200 RAID controller w/64 MB cache
4 18.2 GB 10k RPM drives in a RAID 5 array

Compaq 6400R
4 Xeon 500s with 1MB cache a piece
4 GB RAM
Compaq 3200 RAID controller w/64 MB cache
2 9.1 GB 10k RPM drives in a RAID 1 array
64 bit PCI, 66 MHz Compaq Fibre Channel controller

Compaq RAID Array 4100 SAN
Connected via Fibre Channel to Guinness
64 MB cache
9 36.4 GB 10k RPM drives in a RAID 5 array

Also, barely visable is an Athlon 1GHz desktop machine which is my firewall.
dam, i got $499.00 invested in just my video card....
GsxrJack is offline  
post #18 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-13-2005, 12:11 PM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace
This is my sweet a$$ system!!!
Ace that system RULES!!! How much did that set you back?




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #19 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-14-2005, 01:45 AM
Moderator
Lifetime Gold Supporting Member
'07 Rally Veteran
 
jeeps84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Western N.C. (The Great Smoky Mountains)
Posts: 20,168
Send a message via MSN to jeeps84
I saw one like thta on E-Bay go for over $300.

Submit your ride for the TWF Bike of the Month here


Currently ride 1987 GSXR 50, 1996 Ducati M900, 2005 GSXR 1000
jeeps84 is offline  
post #20 of 84 (permalink) Old 06-14-2005, 01:45 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace
This is my sweet a$$ system!!!
Thats tizight homie
PhoenixGirlie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome