computer question - TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-2005, 03:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,434
computer question

figure there are folks here far smarter than me with computers so here goes: While in the office I have my laptop and my monitor(via docking station) next to eachother so I can keep what I'm working on on the monitor and keep my email, TWF, explorer on my laptop screen. I'm running WindowsXP Pro with my laptop screen is setup as my primary monitor. When windows media player, or any other player for that matter is open on my laptop screen, when I hit play on the video it automatically goes to full screen on my monitor as well as in the player on my laptop screen. It does not do this for audio files. Does anyone know how to turn off the automatic full screen on the secondary monitor when playing video? (besides disabling the monitor while playing video) The same happens when the player is on my secondary, the primary goes to full screen.

thanks
fatburg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-2005, 09:07 PM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Not sure...I guess it would depend on what media player you're running...




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,434
does it with every video player I've used.
fatburg is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 11:11 AM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916


77




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 11:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,339
My suggestion is to check your windows media player settings. If im not mistaken, there might be a setting to automatically play in full screen you can turn off. I run a dual monitor laptop setup at work and home and I dont have that full screen problem. What media player version are you running? If you dont have version 10, Try it out.
This is the way my general view in media player is set up. in the VIEW catagory, scoll all the way down to video size. Both "Fit video to player on resize" and "Fit player to video on start" are checked. Thats my setup and it works normal.

Im not a Media Player Guru but I know there are a lot of options you can customize in MP, just have to look for them. Check those options in the VIEW catagory. If they are the same, Run the help screen and search there... I hope this helps
snadamo is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,434
version 10, and yep already tried every combination of those checkmarks. read dang near every line of the wmp help as well as windows help. I can't even move my cursor over to the full screen side when playing. I have done a bunch of google searches and can't find anything there either.

but thanks for the recommendation
fatburg is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 01:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,339
Another possibility is your video card settings. Since you said your mouse isint working on the other monitor, that raises a flag with your graphics settings. Other than actually being there, thats as much suggestion I can give. hope you figure this thing out!
snadamo is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,434
yep, it was in the driver options. finally figured out how to get there and turn off the full-screen overlay option.

thanks for the help
fatburg is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 02:01 PM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
you guys figured it out... I'm soo proud... it's like watching your kid do his homework for the first time... and then get a big fat D on his hard earned efforts... I'm so happy...

57




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 02:50 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatburg
yep, it was in the driver options. finally figured out how to get there and turn off the full-screen overlay option.

thanks for the help

Glad it worked out for you!
snadamo is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-18-2005, 07:40 AM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Yametooitwasbecomingadrag!!

50




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-18-2005, 09:11 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gas Man
you guys figured it out... I'm soo proud... it's like watching your kid do his homework for the first time... and then get a big fat D on his hard earned efforts... I'm so happy...

57
Holy crap that was funny
PhoenixGirlie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome