Xp Sp2 - TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-04-2004, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
A TWF Original
 
Need4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Still riding a sportbike, unlike Gas Man
Posts: 9,263
Send a message via AIM to Need4Speed Send a message via MSN to Need4Speed Send a message via Yahoo to Need4Speed
Xp Sp2

Geez, what a pain! Took me 45 minutes to download (normal as far as I know)..but then another hour to install..UGH! Plus I had to modify my boot record in order to get it installed. I use Style XP, and had a modified boot screen on my XP and sp2 wont install unless you change it back to default.

Everyday we I get calls about how this pack screws up your internet connection and basic windows functions, but so far so good now thats its installed on my machine. Seems to make things run just alittle bit slower, but not too bad.




I won't tell, but you just got passed by a Kat !!!
Matt - 750 Kat Rider, & TWF Original PostWhore
Need4Speed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-04-2004, 04:41 PM
First 1000 Member
 
jdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lynn, Ma now Maine
Posts: 396
Send a message via Yahoo to jdog
Not to computer shabby here, but I had windows updates on and a little by little things were downloaded and when it was ready to install took about 10 minutes.



["Never mind what others do; do better than yourself, beat your own record from day to day, and you are a success." - William J. H. Boetcker
jdog is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-04-2004, 08:25 PM
Administrator
 
ShanMan14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: FREE THE HOPS!
Posts: 10,104
I've got it, burned it to a CD actually. I have yet to install... I need to block off a few hours in case I need to fix what it does.
ShanMan14 is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-05-2004, 11:21 AM
Moderator
 
GSXR1000DJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Pa
Posts: 7,333
Send a message via AIM to GSXR1000DJ Send a message via Yahoo to GSXR1000DJ
I installed it on my comp and after having it on for a day removed it. System restore. LOL But I am not to happey with it. Made my email go hay-wire and windows to open slower. Uninstalled it and everything was back to normal. Just as it is when all new products come out, they have to tweek them a bit to work right. I'll just keep it off my comp for now. I have also heard this from a few other ppl about it causing them problems with it as well.
GSXR1000DJ is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-05-2004, 12:16 PM
First 1000 Member
 
Dactyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Baddest bitch in the basement
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Dactyl Send a message via Yahoo to Dactyl
sorry i just saw this thread and posted a question in another thread. it made all my fonts and writing look funny everywhere......

"People's lives always seem more interesting to those who don't live them."
Dactyl is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 06:34 AM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
So what's the end decision on this? I have to still do mine and I'm not sure whether or not to do it?!?!?!?




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 06:51 AM
First 1000 Member
 
CharlieMavCBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: I can't tell you that. It's classified. And if I did tell you...I'd have to kill you.
Posts: 1,145
Send a message via AIM to CharlieMavCBR Send a message via Yahoo to CharlieMavCBR
Blah, blah, blah say that again?!?!? Computer techno-babble...NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! LOL

~* ChaRlie *~

"What are you lookin' at BUTTHEAD!"
CharlieMavCBR is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 08:41 AM
Administrator
 
ShanMan14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: FREE THE HOPS!
Posts: 10,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSXR750DJ
I installed it on my comp and after having it on for a day removed it. System restore. LOL But I am not to happey with it. Made my email go hay-wire and windows to open slower. Uninstalled it and everything was back to normal. Just as it is when all new products come out, they have to tweek them a bit to work right. I'll just keep it off my comp for now. I have also heard this from a few other ppl about it causing them problems with it as well.

When I hear stories like this, it makes me delay the install that much longer.
ShanMan14 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 08:48 AM
AKA
First 1000 Member
 
AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 194
Seeing as one of the programs they said that was conflicting was Norton AV, that's enough to put me off until the sw companies have got their crap together and worked ways around the new security etc etc.
AKA is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 10:04 AM
V-Twin Moddin
 
Gas Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 38,916
Here's what Norton says.....

http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/sp2/faq.html




-Chris
aka Gas Man



Was: 2002 Kaw ZX-9R
IS:


is me till the
Gas Man is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
A TWF Original
 
Need4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Still riding a sportbike, unlike Gas Man
Posts: 9,263
Send a message via AIM to Need4Speed Send a message via MSN to Need4Speed Send a message via Yahoo to Need4Speed
im running both norton antiv. and firewall..I disabled the xp sp2 firewall/antivirus (which is sponsored thru avg) and just continued to use my norton.

was totally slowing all phases of my comp till I disabled both of these in my control panel, and now it runs better. it's going to slow down your comp, alittle bit, in the boot up process, and in general while programs load into memory..but now I disabled those 2 things, it's back to normal for the most part, just noticing a slight slow down now.


this is no longer a beta version, so this it folks..unless microsoft decides to change something, which dont count on it, because many people had probs with sp1 when it came out...so yeah, microsoft will release periodic updates, especially when new/big virus threats come out..but the main sp2, is pretty gonna stay the way it is.

Definately dont run the sp2 firewall/antivirus if you already have one installed, dont need it, and it doesnt really offer more protection since norton is good enough on its own..now if you're running a router, than thats even better of course.




I won't tell, but you just got passed by a Kat !!!
Matt - 750 Kat Rider, & TWF Original PostWhore
Need4Speed is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 10:29 AM
First 1000 Member
 
Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: viewing a thread near you
Posts: 741
So are there any actual advantages to the install?

-Todd

MySpace: high school for college students.
Todd is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
A TWF Original
 
Need4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Still riding a sportbike, unlike Gas Man
Posts: 9,263
Send a message via AIM to Need4Speed Send a message via MSN to Need4Speed Send a message via Yahoo to Need4Speed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd
So are there any actual advantages to the install?
It does close alot of open security holes in windows, and if you dont have a firewall/antivirus, its good to use this one for sure..and it sets up windows for quicker/easier updates..suppose to anyway.

I suppose in the long run its good..and sooner or later, you'll probably have to install it, if you wanna get anymore windows updates. and even with a firewall, its pretty critical to do windows updates in general..just after you install it..immediately disable the firewall/antivirus, and reboot again, your comp will be alittle slow at first, but it should come back around.




I won't tell, but you just got passed by a Kat !!!
Matt - 750 Kat Rider, & TWF Original PostWhore
Need4Speed is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 11:01 AM
First 1000 Member
 
Mudpuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 2,845
Cut the bs, throw out your POS Intel and buy an Imac - that will solve ALL your security issues.. lol..

Mudpuppy
TWF Resident Maniac
Wide Open Sportbikes

God told me to skin you alive

Mudpuppy is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 11:29 AM Thread Starter
A TWF Original
 
Need4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Still riding a sportbike, unlike Gas Man
Posts: 9,263
Send a message via AIM to Need4Speed Send a message via MSN to Need4Speed Send a message via Yahoo to Need4Speed
Quote:
Originally Posted by double2000r6
Cut the bs, throw out your POS Intel and buy an Imac - that will solve ALL your security issues.. lol..
u know, he's got a point..how many viruses get on a mac..not too damn many.

or even better...use Linux




I won't tell, but you just got passed by a Kat !!!
Matt - 750 Kat Rider, & TWF Original PostWhore
Need4Speed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TwoWheelForum: Motorcycle and Sportbike forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome