Two Wheel Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to TWF, but I have been reading around for about a month. I am really interested in starting to ride, but of course I have a few questions. Right now I am sellling my miata because even though it is fun, I really have been wanting a bike. Now I have some experience with dirtbikes. I haven't ridden anything bigger than a 125 though. I plan on taking some saftey classes as well. The thing is though I am a small guy. I'm 20, but I am only 5'6 and 120 lbs. I have really been looking at an SV650, Kat 600, or a 700 Interceptor, but what I really want to know is there a few bikes I can go look at that would be a good fit for me, such as a lower seat height, smaller bike. I would like to get a 500/600cc bike. I appreciate the help. Thanks,

-Ken

·
Registered
17,886 Posts
Most sportbikes can be lowered to accomidate your height. I'd say you being 120 pounds a 600 will be good for you for a WHILE. With sportbikes you can lower the front basically for free and for the rear you need a longer dog bone and some are adjustable for like 100 bcks. i suggest going to a dealer and sitting on some bikes. It depends on your budget. Did you want to get something new or used? It's easy to get ride heights off of the net so if you've sat on a 650 or a kat find out the seat height and this will be your basis on your decision. Bring a print out if you have to. There's a lot of knowledgable guys on this forum that could help you out. Welcome by the way. :dthumb:

·
Banned
3,078 Posts
i am a bigger guy but the SV650s will fit you no problem.....take the msf (saftey course) get a bike and habve fun......i am 16 and i started this year!!! i have riden dirt bikes for years and i just cought on natrually....you should have no problem on a sv650s get the s model though the regular one doesnt have the upper fairin .... here if yiou dont get what i am saying

that was the S and regular model