Two Wheel Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Administrator
10,104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There is a debate in the car community as to whether drilled and/or slotted rotors actually cool the rotors more effectively.

Sportbikes almost always have drilled rotors, so there must be something to that, no?

·
Registered
964 Posts
Well I can touch my drilled/slotted rotors @ 15 mins after I drive.
With the stock rotors they took 2+ hours to cool.
So I would agree drilled/slotted cool faster

·
Registered
667 Posts
I suspect both methods allow for greater heat dissipation over non-drilled/slotted rotors. I guess the debate would be which method is more effective as each has it's own benefits. I am not a mechanical engineer but I would venture a guess that slotted rotors may be cooler in that less contact (friction) made between pad and rotor.

·
Registered
2,394 Posts
Slots and holes can help sweep debris away from the pad, and gives water a place to go when squeezing the pad in the rain. My 76 Jeep has cooling slots sandwiched or cast-in between the rotors, but the rotor sure is heavy. Of course, the less material, the lighter the rotor. It is unsprung weight.

·
Registered
387 Posts
I dont know the technical name for it but the main reason for the slots or holes is to actually let the superheated air escape. If they werent there you can actually (under racing or very hard braking conditions) have a air gap between your pads and rotors and have little stopping power. Thats also a big part of brake fade is the hot gasses produced with all that friction pushing the pads off the rotors.

·
V-Twin Moddin
38,916 Posts
Very close... slotting is to allow the gases to escape off the brake surface and the cross drilling is meant to increase surface area to allow for faster cooling therefor causing less brake fade due to excessive heat...

This info is straight from a brake dyno tech at a major braking industry provider...

·
Registered
519 Posts