Two Wheel Forums banner

Looking to start riding

2K views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  mdouglas71 
#1 ·
Hello, Merry Christmas(belated) and Happy New Years. I have been looking at getting a bike when I return home from a deployment in the spring, and have been looking at 600cc bikes. I have some experience on a dirt bike, when I rode I quickly became comfortable while maintaining respect for the bike and asking questions to the experienced rider I was with before pushing a little further, but no road experience, yet. I am 23 years old and weigh 200 pounds, and am still bulking up and pushing for another 25 pounds. The three bikes I have been looking into are the Honda CBR600, the Suzuki GSX-R 600, and my personal favorite the Yamaha R6.

I have one friend who is experienced in bikes, and around my age who has known me, say, three years. Speaking with him, he is adamantly against me getting a Sports bikes, and tries to steer me to cruisers, which I do not want at this time, but later. He is of an opinion that I will mess up badly in three weeks, (ye of little faith it would seem). But when I can get him around to talking about sports bikes I mentioned I was looking at 250s from a learning perspective, and he waved that off saying I should go ahead and start off in the Inline 4 motors, like the CBR 600/500, and Ninja 650s. From a standpoint I am not a fan of the Ninja bikes, something in my gut tells me not to go there and I just don't like the look of them.