Two Wheel Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First I want to say that this is a very cool place to post. Everyone here seems to be very helpful and honest unlike other forums. :twfrox: I am new to TWF and new to riding. I purchased my first bike a Kaw ZZR 600 and I will pick it up on Friday. I have also purchased leather riding gear and boots. (I am a safety nut). I am registered to take a safety course in the coming weeks. I have some experience riding bikes but that was long ago (Suzuki GS550). So here are my questions:

1) Is the ZZR 600 a good choice?

A few people told me to get an R6 or a GSXR 600 but, I dont have the experience to ride one of those yet so i didnt get one.

2) I pick up on things fast, but how does one change gears on a motorcycle?

I know that first is up and the others are down but can someone explain the process...like clutch, then shift...again its been while so be nice. :help:

My plan is to practice with my bike in a school parking lot near my house prior to going to the course. Turning, stopping, etc..
I dont plan on doing anything other than that until I take the course.

· Registered
24,037 Posts
:welcome: First...I think that bike is a pretty solid choice for a first bike. Who ever told you to get the 600 race-rep is a fool. You made a wise decision. Also, great job on getting the gear, just remember to wear it EVERYTIME you ride.

As for your question about shifting...most bikes are 1 DOWN and the rest UP....opposite of what you said. Now, some may have their tranny's laid out the way you described, but this is mostly something done by the rider (or racer).

The MSF course does a great job of teaching the basics. It is geared towards the total beginner and will provide you with great information and guidance. Remember, the instructors are there to help you.

Good luck and ride safe. :luck:

· V-Twin Moddin
39,300 Posts
:welcome: Dude.... glad you like TWF!