Two Wheel Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Administrator
10,104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't know about you, but this is a real concern of mine. When I was a newb on my bike, I made a mistake that has me scared since.

I was riding to work, the temp was around 35 degrees. I was making a right-hand turn and change gears mid-turn. Oops. My rear wheel caught the next gear and subsequently spun. Had I not pulled the clutch in fear, it would have been a wreck. Mind-you, I was turning from a stop so I wasn't going fast at all.

Anyway, that incident underlines the lack of grip to the road in the cold weather. I can stand the cold air, just wear more gear. What scares me is leaning in a turn and hitting a patch of cold pavement, black ice or whatever, and it's going to take me down.

Does anyone, who rides in the cold weather, ride more conservatively?

·
Registered
9,263 Posts
I think you always ride alittle more cautiously in cold weather...and most definately warm up your tires before you do any kind of aggressive riding. Changing gears in mid-turn doesn't help matters much either...I try to always avoid that. Especially if you're on a bike with any kinda decent hp to the rear wheel, it can be a disaster in a heartbeat.

Mudpuppy can say more about taking a corner hard on cold tires.. :eek:

·
Banned
3,654 Posts
ShanMan14 said:
I don't know about you, but this is a real concern of mine. When I was a newb on my bike, I made a mistake that has me scared since.

I was riding to work, the temp was around 35 degrees. I was making a right-hand turn and change gears mid-turn. Oops. My rear wheel caught the next gear and subsequently spun. Had I not pulled the clutch in fear, it would have been a wreck. Mind-you, I was turning from a stop so I wasn't going fast at all.