Two Wheel Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,876 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I know I'm asking a lot of questions, but I'm new to riding so I'd rather have knowledge rather than be like this guy I saw driving about 70 down the road pullin' a wheelie wearing shorts, "wife beater", flip-flops and no lid!

Question:

Can anyone tell me the benefits of one bike trailer over another. I have a 2000 Chevy Cavalier so I know it can't haul something too heavy and the 2005 R6 weighs about 360lbs now. I was looking at the trailer that has just a single rail in it for a single bike. The dealer that I went to said I'd be better off with a flat-bottomed trailer. They said this for the reason of tie-down. But that trailer weighs like 600+lbs by itself. Any help?

Grafixx

·
Moderator , Lifetime Gold Supporting Member, '07 R
20,168 Posts
8X10 standard utility trailer is all you need.
Your little Chevy will do just fine with one bike or a lawnmower.
Any thing else would be to little or to much. :2cents:

·
Registered
3,082 Posts
8x10 is a little large for a single bike... there are some 4x8 trailers that you can get that will do the job and not weigh that much.... like Northern Tools & Equipment and it won’t take up extra space in the garage....

And: there is nothing wrong with asking a lot of questions... Asking questions is the first sign of intelligence...

·
Registered
4,335 Posts
Heck, a little 4x8 flat bed trailer would work well for what you need. You can still tie the bike down just fine on that size trailer. You can also buy a front wheel chock that locks the front wheel in place, then you just bolt it to the trailer bed.

·
Registered
2,876 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the fast replies everyone.

I think I'll go look at a 4x8 trailer. The dealer had like a single-rail trailer, I guess that wouldn't be good? I heard/been told that they are hard to tie-down on those kind because you cannot use the stand. Is this true?