Two Wheel Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new FZ6!

Just picked it up today. I am anxious to get out and ride, but had errands with my wife today, then had to sleep for work tonite. It's killing me not to ride, but I decide I didn't want to ride to work, in the dark, without enough sleep, with chance of rain, for the first time on a bike with more than twice the braking power and almost twice the HP.

However, tomorrow ...

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I can't wait to ride.

It's not a very different ride than my old bike, but of course, I can't rev it up past 5000 rpm right now, and I know that this bike's powerband is 7-10k rpm, so I'm sure I'll feel the difference.

I've wanted this bike since I started riding. I don't know why, but I just have a strong emotional draw toward Yamaha
- can't explain it. I looked at the SV also, and was very drawn by the low end power and the "faster" yellow color :lol:, but I just can't take the ergos - not at 6'2" and 210 lbs. As it stands, the FZ is very similar to my current bike, and I'll be looking for a way to drop the handlebars about an inch for trackdays and aggressive riding, but still be able to put it back to normal for touring, commuting, having fun.

It's got actual handlebars instead of clipons, so I thinjk I can just loosen the clamp and twist it forward about a quarter-turn. This will also change the angle my hands hit the controls, but I think I'll like that too.

Time for mods ... frame sliders and K & N first, then I'm thinking about a mirror touring screen and heat coated pipes - my baby's already got brown pipes!

·
Registered
44 Posts
Congrats on the new ride.

2 schools of thought on the break-in:

#1. Ride according to the manual, let the piston rings get acquainted with the cylinder walls properly, vary engine speed for a while...

#2. Ride it like you stole it.